Welcome Distraction: Serin’s Creed

Weekly Updates 23 and 24 were spent on a spin-off idea for Victis.

In the small game development studio I work on, I lobbied for what we call “Free Friday” where, in every first Friday of every month, for the whole of that Friday, we’re allowed to make whatever videogame concoctions we can think of.

This is our excuse to make time doing those crazy ideas we get from time to time.

This is also to de-stress (as I like to call it “detoxifying”) from being full of client work. That is, work where we create a videogame for a client, per her/his instructions, leaving little room for creative ideas.

The catch with this Free Friday, is we have to start with a blank slate every time, and make sure we have something presentable at the end of the day. Think of it as a short informal game jam.

So for the November Free Friday I thought of making this idea I had one time before I went to bed:

“Damnit I want to play Assassin’s Creed right now on my Android tablet!”

That’s pretty much the basic gist of it. I wasn’t able to have much by the end of the Free Friday so I took the weekend and the weekend after that continuing on it.

Here’s what I’ve ended up with so far:

I’ve detailed more of it in my personal blog here: Battle Maiden Part 1

How is this related to Victis

The player character in that little experiment is a Battle Maiden.

I wanted Victis to draw (loosely) on Überwald-esque dark fantasy, and that included gypsies.

Through some athletic feats of cognition, my train of thought arrived at pistol-weilding, dancing, acrobatic gypsies, that right now I’m calling “Battle Maidens” until I figure out a better name.

_2012-11-25_12-38-34 serin model

The idea of acrobatic, one-man army, free-flowing gameplay that Assassin’s Creed and Batman: Arkham Asylum had, fit well with Battle Maidens, so that’s the graphics I used for this Free Friday game.

_2012-11-28_01-19-56 pose

Leave a Reply

